Add Permissions | Setup Portlet | Teradata Data Mover - 17.11 - Adding Permissions - Teradata Data Mover

Teradata® Data Mover User Guide

Product
Teradata Data Mover
Release Number
17.11
Release Date
October 2021
Content Type
User Guide
Publication ID
B035-4101-091K
Language
English (United States)
You can select users and roles to have complete access (read, write, and execute) to the daemon. You can also enable security management for finer control, to designate specific permissions at both the daemon and the job level.
The following is true if security management is not enabled:
  • All jobs can be viewed and executed by the selected Viewpoint users in the Data Mover portlet.
  • Individual users or roles cannot be limited to individual permissions (such as read and execute, but not write). Every user and role has all permissions (read, write, and execute) if they are selected as described below, or no permissions at all if they are not selected.

If you enable security management and set permissions at the daemon level, you can also designate that users and roles be allowed to use commands without requiring a user ID.

  1. In the Daemons column, click the name of the daemon you want to configure.
  2. In the Daemon Setup column, click Permissions.
  3. Select one of the following options:
    Option Description
    Give full daemon access to all selected users and roles Security management is disabled.
    Allow daemon write or execute access to be configured per user or role Permissions are given at the daemon level.
    Allow user and role access to be further restricted per job Permissions are given at the job level.
  4. [Optional] If you are setting permissions at the daemon level and want to allow command use without requiring user IDs, select the Allow command use without user ID check box.
  5. [Optional] To filter the list of Available Users, use the Available Users Filter.
    By default, the list displays a complete list of Teradata Viewpoint users.
  6. [Optional] To designate permissions for users, select the user names from the Available Users list and click "" to move them to the Selected Users list.
    By default, a selected user has read access, designated by the letter R that is displayed near their name.
  7. [Optional] To grant write and execute privileges to a user, click the user and click Write to grant write access and Execute to grant execution rights.
    The letter W indicates that write access has been granted, and X indicates that execution rights have been granted.
  8. [Optional] To designate permissions for a role, select the role from the Available Roles list and click "" to move it to the Selected Roles list.
    By default, a selected role has read access, designated by the letter R that is displayed near their name.
  9. [Optional] To grant write and execute privileges to a role, click the role and click Write to grant write access and Execute to grant execution rights.
    The letter W indicates that write access has been granted, and X indicates that execution rights have been granted.
  10. Click Apply.
  11. [Optional] To set additional features when security management is enabled, click Advanced, and select the user or role and the feature they can access.
    1. To enable the user or role to update job plans, select the Update job plan check box.
    2. To enable the user or role to change job priorities, select the Change job priority check box.
    3. To set the maximum number of streams permitted, enter the number in the Maximum number of streams field.
    4. To designate the utilities the user or role can use in creating jobs, select the check boxes under Available utilities.
  12. Click Apply.