Teradata Viewpoint Database Restoration Options | Teradata Viewpoint - Teradata Viewpoint Database Restoration Options - Teradata Viewpoint

Teradata® Viewpoint Installation, Configuration, and Upgrade Guide for Customers - 24.04

Deployment
VantageCloud
VantageCore
Edition
Enterprise
IntelliFlex
Lake
VMware
Product
Teradata Viewpoint
Release Number
24.04
Published
April 2024
Language
English (United States)
Last Update
2024-04-29
dita:mapPath
ohm1711972149764.ditamap
dita:ditavalPath
acl1501004736403.ditaval
dita:id
ulq1467244577135
Product Category
Analytical Ecosystem

When restoring a backup in a clustered environment, perform the restoration steps on only the primary server.

A short outage is required while the configuration data is being restored. Once the configuration data is restored, the system comes back online and the historical monitoring data is restored.

Taking a backup generates the pgTimezone.json file with the Postgres timezone. When you start the restoration, the script first compares the OS and Postgres timezone of target. Then compares the Postgres timezone of source and target.

If the timezones do not match, a notification appears to run the syncOSPGTimezone.sh script.
  • If you are running the script on the source system to sync the Postgres timezone, take a fresh backup and then run the restore script.
  • If you are running the script on the target system to sync the Postgres timezone, you can run the restore script without taking any fresh backup of the source.
You can choose one of the following options.
Restore Option Description
Configuration Data only Restores only the configuration data. Existing historical data is retained and is not restored from backup.
Configuration Data only (into a clean database) Restores the configuration data. Existing historical monitoring data is not kept and is not restored from backup. A new Viewpoint database is created and the old database is removed.
Full Restore Restores both the configuration and historical monitoring data. A new Viewpoint database is created and the old database is removed.