15.10 - Grant / Revoke Column Rights Fields - Teradata Administrator

Teradata Administrator User Guide

prodname
Teradata Administrator
vrm_release
15.10
category
User Guide
featnum
B035-2502-035K
 

Table 29: Grant/Revoke Columns Dialog Box Description 

Field or Control

Description

Database Name

Specify the database or user to grant or revoke privileges.

Table Name

Select the table or view to grant column privileges.

When an object is selected from the table name list, all the columns related to that object display in the Columns list.

Type

The two Object Type buttons specify the type of object to grant column privileges:

  • Table
  • View
  • When an Object Type is selected, all the objects related to the type display in the Table Name list.

    Columns

    Specify the column to grant or revoke column privileges.

    To select multiple columns, press and hold Ctrl and click on the columns.

    All But

    Grant or revoke the selected privileges on all columns except those that have been selected in the Columns list.

    Privileges

    Specify the column privileges to grant or revoke.

    To / From User

    Displays all the users and databases of the data source that are being worked with.

    Select the name of the user or database to grant column privileges.

    To select multiple users, press and hold Ctrl and click on the users.

    And All Children

    Applies to the user or database selected in the To User list. Select to extend the column privileges to all the children of the selected user or database.

    This extension applies to all currently-owned users and databases, and to any that might become owned in the future.

    Note: If multiple users are selected, the And All Children specification is added only to the first user in the list.

    Role

    Displays all the roles that exist on the data source that is being worked with.

    Select the name of the role to grant column privileges.

    To select multiple roles, press and hold Ctrl and click on the roles.

    Public

    Select this option to extend the general access or column privileges to all users and databases on the currently selected database.

    This applies to all currently-defined users and databases, and to any that might be defined in the future.