17.20 - Standard Language Support Mode - Advanced SQL Engine - Teradata Database

Teradata Vantage™ - Advanced SQL Engine International Character Set Support

Advanced SQL Engine
Teradata Database
Release Number
June 2022
Last Update
Content Type
User Guide
Publication ID
English (United States)
If you enable standard language support, then by default Vantage stores:
  • Object names in the Data Dictionary using the UNICODE server character set
  • User data in Advanced SQL Engine tables using the LATIN server character set.
    You can override the global data storage default by specifying a different default character set for individual users and table columns. See Specifying the Default Server Character Set.

For the standard language support mode, the default server character set for user DBC is also LATIN.

Standard language support provides Vantage internal coding for the entire set of printable characters from the ISO 8859-1 (Latin1) and ISO 8859-15 (Latin9) standard, including diacritical marks such as ä, ñ, Ÿ, Œ, and œ, though the Z with caron in Latin9 is not supported. ASCII control characters are also supported for the standard language set.

For a definition of the Teradata LATIN character set used to represent ASCII and EBCDIC characters, see LATIN Server Character Set.

Compatible Languages

The LATIN server character set used in standard language support mode is sufficient to support the following languages.

International Languages That are Compatible with Standard Language Support
Albanian English Germanic Portuguese
Basque Estonian Greenlandic Rhaeto-Romantic
Breton Faroese Icelandic Romance
Catalonian Finnish Irish Gaelic (new orthography) Samoan
Celtic French Italian Scottish Gaelic
Cornish Frisian Latin Spanish
Danish Galician Luxemburgish Swahili
Dutch German Norwegian Swedish
For support of languages not shown in the preceding table, the server character set should be set either: