17.00 - CONSTRAINT - Advanced SQL Engine - Teradata Database

Teradata Vantage™ - SQL Data Definition Language Syntax and Examples

Advanced SQL Engine
Teradata Database
Release Number
September 2020
Content Type
Programming Reference
Publication ID
English (United States)

Up to 6 hierarchical constraints and 2 non-hierarchical constraints can be assigned per profile.

For more information about row-level security constraints, see CREATE CONSTRAINT.

Changes take effect at the next logon by profile members after the profile definition is modified.

Name of one or more row-level security constraints, each followed by a list of the hierarchical levels or non-hierarchical categories, valid for the constraint, which are being assigned to the profile_name.
List of hierarchical levels. Example of hierarchical level constraint assignment:
CONSTRAINT = Classification_Level (Secret, Unclassified DEFAULT)
DEFAULT can be specified for 1 classification level from the specified list of levels for a hierarchical constraint. The specified level becomes the default value for the constraint when a session is established for the user to which the profile is assigned.
If you do not specify DEFAULT for any of the listed classification levels, then the first level listed becomes the default for the profile.
DEFAULT is not valid for non-hierarchical constraints.
List of non-hierarchical categories. Example non-hierarchical category constraint assignment:
CONSTRAINT = Classification_Country (US, UK, GER)
If the constraint is already assigned to the profile, the level and category names you specify for the constraint replace existing level and constraint specifications.
If you specify NULL for a constraint previously assigned to the profile, the constraint is dropped from the profile definition.