15.10 - The Process of Merging Workloads - Teradata Workload Analyzer

Teradata Workload Analyzer User Guide

prodname
Teradata Workload Analyzer
vrm_release
15.10
category
User Guide
featnum
B035-2514-035K

The process of merging workloads involves the following:

1 Merge the workload classifications of different criteria and remove any duplicate classifications.

2 Assign the appropriate performance AG mapping for the resulting workload.

3 Calculate or recalculate the service level goals for the merged workload (which can be accepted or modified service level goals from the SLG Graph window.)

4 Merge the workload classifications.

The merging process performs a union of classifications of all workloads selected for the merge process. Any duplicates of the workload classifications values are removed.

Currently, in workload classification, all clusters can be either included or excluded. The same rule is used for merging workloads. If the merge process comes across both exclude/include classification criteria, it would unionize all the classification criteria and assign exclude/include based on the criteria in the selected workloads. See Figure 20 for an example of merging workloads together.

Figure 20: Example of two workloads merging

The following workloads and classifications cannot be merged:

  • A workload with AMP Limits classification cannot be merged with a workload with Final Row Count classification
  • A workload with Utility Type classification cannot be merged with a workload with Estimated Row Count, Estimated Processing Time, AMP Limits, or Object Type classifications.
  • 1 Select a workload from the left panel, under the Candidate Workloads tree, to begin the merge process.

    The merge process allows merging of any and all available workloads (except the Default and the Console Application workloads) into the selected workload.

    2 Right-click on the selected workload to display the shortcut menu.

    3 Click Merge.

    The Merge Workloads dialog box appears.

    The following table describes the dialog box controls.

     

    Options

    Description

    Available Workloads

    Lists all workloads available for merging. Default and console workloads are not available for the merge process.

    Selected Workloads

    Lists the workloads selected for the merge process.

    Add

    Moves the selected workload from Available Workloads to Selected Workloads

    Remove

    Removes the workload from Selected Workloads, placing it back in Available Workloads.

    Merge

    Merges all workloads in Selected Workloads into one workload.

    Cancel

    Closes the Merge Workloads dialog box.

    4 Click the workload in Available Workloads to be merged, then click Add.

    Up to two workloads can be selected for merging. The workload(s) appears in the Selected Workloads list.

    5 Click Merge to complete the process.

    The merged workload name is generated by taking the name of the selected workload and suffixing an _MG to the name. The workload name can be changed using the Rename option from the shortcut menu after the merge process is completed and a new merged workload is created.