15.11 - About the Job Settings Tab - Data Stream Architecture

Teradata Data Stream Architecture (DSA) User Guide

prodname
Data Stream Architecture
vrm_release
15.11
created_date
December 2016
category
User Guide
featnum
B035-3150-026K

The Job Settings tab allows you to apply changes to the default jobs settings that are created for backup, restore, and analyze jobs during job creation.

Field Description Job Type
Automatically retire Determines whether a job is retired automatically.
Never
Default. The job is not retired automatically. The job retire must be set manually.
After
Specifies the time, in days or weeks, that a job is automatically retired.
  • Backup
  • Restore
  • Analyze
Backup Method Determines the type of backup to perform.
Offline
Default. Backs up everything associated with each specified object while the database is offline. No updates can be made to the objects during the backup job run.
Online
Backs up everything associated with each specified object and initiates an online archive for all objects being archived. The online archive creates a log that contains all changes to the objects while the archive is prepared.
Dictionary Only
Backs up only the dictionary and table header information for each object.
You cannot use incremental backup on a Dictionary Only backup job.
  • Backup
No sync checkbox Determines where synchronization is done for the job. Only available for online backup jobs.
  • Default is unchecked. If unchecked, synchronization occurs across all tables simultaneously. If you try to run a job that includes objects that are already being logged, the job aborts.
  • If the checkbox is selected, there can be different synchronization points. If you try to run a job that includes objects that are already being logged, the job runs to completion and a warning is returned.
  • Backup
Logging Level
Determines the types of messages that the database job logs.
error
Default. Enables minimal logging. Provides only error messages.
warning
Adds warning messages to error message logging.
info
Provides informational messages with warning and error messages to the job log.
debug
Enables full logging. All messages, including Debug, are sent to the job log.
  • Backup
  • Restore
  • Analyze_validate
Job Permissions
  • If the job permissions have not been defined, the permissions show as not shared.
  • If job permissions have been defined, the cumulative number of users and roles with shared permissions are shown.

Click Edit to open the Change Permissions dialog box if job permissions need to be changed.

  • Backup
  • Restore
  • Analyze
Abort On Access Rights Violation

If the box is not checked, allows the Teradata backup or restore job to proceed even when a DUMP access rights violation is encountered on an object.

If the box is checked, the job aborts when the access rights violation is encountered.

This checkbox appears only when the following are true::
  • The source system is Teradata Database version 15.10.01.00 or later
  • Source system and target group credentials have been validated
  • When creating or editing a Teradata backup or restore job
  • Backup
  • Restore
Query Band
Allows tagging of sessions or transactions with a set of user-defined name-value pairs to identify where a query originated. These identifiers are in addition to the current set of session identification fields, such as user ID, account string, client ID, and application name.
Valid query band values are defined on the database.
DSA creates query bands for restore jobs when an override temperature or block level compression option has a value other than DEFAULT. You can enter different query bands in the bottom text box.
  • Backup
  • Restore
Override temperature
Determines the temperature at which data is restored.
DEFAULT
Default. This data is restored at the default temperature setting for the system.
HOT
This data is accessed frequently.
WARM
This data is accessed less frequently.
COLD
This data is accessed least frequently.
  • Restore
Block Level Compression (BLC)
Defines data compression used.
DEFAULT
Default. Applies same data compression as the backup job if allowed on the target system.
ON
Compress data at the block level if allowed on the target system.
OFF
Restore the data blocks uncompressed.
  • Restore
Disable Fallback checkbox Fallback protection means that a copy of every table row is maintained on a different AMP in the configuration. Fallback-protected tables are always fully accessible and are automatically recovered by the system.
The Disable fallback option is not available for restore jobs when Run as copy is not set. The icon appears when the mouse pointer is hovered over the checkbox.
  • Default is unchecked. If unchecked, restored tables are recreated with fallback automatically enabled.
  • Checked is not available.
  • Restore
Run as copy checkbox

Allows the restore to run as a copy job. A copy job assumes the destination database is not the original database system on the backup job and the database id is different. A copy job is used when restoring to a database with a different internal database id than the one in the backup save set. A copy is not used when the database system is the original database and the database id matches the one found in the backup save set.

  • Default is unchecked.
  • If checked, the restore runs as a copy.
  • Restore
DBC Credentials Click Set Credentials to open the Enter Credentials dialog box if DBC credentials need to be established.
  • Restore