Using Checkpoints in a Workflow or Customer List | Vantage CX - 1.4 - Using Checkpoints - Vantage Customer Experience

Vantage Customer Experience User Guide

Product
Vantage Customer Experience
Release Number
1.4
Release Date
June 2021
Content Type
User Guide
Publication ID
B035-3800-099K
Language
English (United States)

You can add a checkpoint to nodes on a workflow or customer list. As the system executes the workflow or customer list, it saves your progress at each checkpoint. In the event of a failure, you can edit the workflow or customer list and resume execution from the checkpoint instead of the Start node.

Only workflows or customer list for which you have enabled the Allow resumable execution option can be resumed. See Creating a Workflow or Customer List.

Canceling Resumable Workflows or Customer List

If a workflow or customer list has failed but is resumable, it may be canceled by the following actions:
Action Description
The workflow or customer list is scheduled to execute in the future. The scheduled workflow or customer list executes as normal.

The system cancels the resumable workflow or customer list.

You execute a new instance of the workflow or customer list. The system prompts for confirmation.

If you execute a new instance, the system cancels the resumable workflow or customer list.

You delete a resumable workflow or customer list or its sub-workflow. The system prompts for confirmation.

If you you delete the resumable workflow or customer list, it cannot be resumed.

If you delete its sub-workflow, the system cancels the parent workflow or customer list.

Editing Resumable Workflows or Customer List

When a resumable workflow or customer list fails, you can edit the nodes to resolve the failure. For example, you can modify contents of an SQL node and resume the workflow or customer list from the checkpoint.

When editing a resumable workflow or customer list that that has failed, making any of the following changes will cancel the resumable execution:
  • Adding or removing nodes
  • Adding or removing checkpoints
  • Changing connectors
  • Editing a sub-workflow

Checkpointing Specific Nodes

You can add checkpoints to all nodes except Start and End.

By default, when adding sub-workflows or customer lists that contain nodes with checkpoints, the entire sub-workflow or customer list will be used as a checkpoint. When a sub-workflow or customer list successfully completes, you cannot resume from a checkpoint within the sub-workflow or customer list. To ensure that the sub-workflow or customer list is not re-executed (in case of a failure later in the parent workflow), the entire sub-workflow or customer list is automatically designated as a checkpoint in the parent workflow. You can disable this automatic checkpoint, if needed.

When resuming a workflow or customer list, the system starts from the checkpoint prior to the failed node.