Scheduling Viewpoint Backups

Teradata Viewpoint User Guide

brand
Analytical Ecosystem
prodname
Teradata Viewpoint
vrm_release
16.00
category
User Guide
featnum
B035-2206-106K
You can configure automatic backups, set a data retention length, and enable or disable the backup process at any time.

From the Backup view, a status displays. If the last backup was successful, the date and time display, as well as the size of the data that was backed up, using a 1024 byte kilobyte as the base.

  1. [Optional] From the Backup view, do one of the following:
    • Select the Enable backup check box to activate the backup process.
    • Clear the Enable backup check box to disable the automatic-backup process.
  2. From the Daily Backup Time list, select the daily start time of the backup operation.
  3. From the Keep Backups For list, select the number of days to retain the backup data.
  4. Under Location, select one of the following options to set the location of the backup files:
    Option Description
    Local Backs up Teradata Viewpoint databases to the local server.
    Network Backs up Teradata Viewpoint databases to a networked file server to prevent data loss in the event of a catastrophic failure.
    1. If a postgres user has not been created on the NFS server with write access to the specified backup path, contact the Teradata System Administrator.
    2. Enter a Host to specify the host system name.

      The host is the IP address or DNS name of the networked file server.

    3. Enter a Path to specify the absolute path name where the backups are stored on the host system.

      For example, if you are running the command on Linux, it would look something like this: mount <host>:<path>/path/to/local/mount/point

    4. [Optional] Click Test to verify that the login settings are correct.

      If the operation is successful, appears. If the operation fails, appears. Verify the settings are correct and try again.

      You can click to view the result of the test.
  5. Click Apply. The changes are saved and backup files are deleted when they are older than the configured number of days.