1.0 - Promoting Components - Vantage Customer Experience

Vantage Customer Experience User Guide

prodname
Vantage Customer Experience
vrm_release
1.0
category
User Guide
featnum
B035-3800-099K
When you log in to Vantage CX, select DEV. Development is selected by default, and it is the only environment that allows editing. Promoting moves components from one environment to the next. After you promote from QA to Production, the changes are pushed out to all Vantage CX Decision servers so the changes are available in the live system.
Simulations are not available in the Development environment, so you must promote from Development to QA to run simulations.
  1. To understand the effect of promoting a component, review the following table.
    Component Promote Component Promote All
    Channel Promotes the channel, associated responses, and any criteria uniquely tied to the channel.
    The first time you promote a channel in any environment, you should promote all. The channel is not visible in the next environment until you have run promote all at least once.

    Promotes the channel, any components uniquely tied to the channel, and all interaction points, areas, decision points, message groups, and messages in the hierarchy and any criteria linked to those components.

    Promoting a channel and all its interaction points can potentially take a long time.
    Interaction Point   Promotes the interaction point, any components uniquely tied to the interaction point, and any areas, decision points, message groups, and messages in the hierarchy and any criteria linked to those components.
    Message Promotes the message and any associated criteria.  
    Message Group Promotes the message group and any associated criteria. Promotes the message group, any associated criteria, the linked messages and any criteria linked to those messages.
    Criterion Promotes the criterion.  
    Upon saving or deleting, attributes, attribute categories, objectives, and third-party profiles are immediately saved or deleted across Development, QA, and Production. As a result, promotion has no effect on these components. If you do not see your changes to these components in QA, it means the components were previously loaded into memory in QA and remain as a snapshot. To refresh the QA environment, run Promote All on the channel. Because these components exist in all environments, you cannot delete them from a channel.
  2. Select Promote Component or Promote All:
    • From a form, select ACTIONS > Promote Component or ACTIONS > Promote All.
    • From a grid view, select a component and select Promote Component or Promote All.
    If you open an interaction point and select Promote All, a promote preview is displayed that shows the state of the higher-level environment. Click CONFIRM to complete the promotion.

Promotion Examples

The following diagram shows sample hierarchies in the QA and Production environments.


Sample hierarchies in QA and Production environments

  • Example 1: Message group MG2 is updated in the QA environment. Promote one of the following for MG2:
    • MG2 only (without any linked messages). Criteria are always promoted.
    • All the objects linked to MG2. Messages and criteria are promoted.
  • Example 2: Interaction point IP-1 is updated. The only option is to promote the entire interaction point.
  • Example 3: Message group MG2 is unlinked from interaction point IP-1. When you promote IP-1, IP-1 is promoted to Production. The relationship to MG2 is deleted in Production.
    MG2 is not deleted, only its relationship to IP-1.
  • Example 4: Message group MG2 is deleted (globally, not just within a channel). In this case, the deletion occurs in production only when the full organization is promoted.
    A promotion of the full organization is typically performed by a system administrator.