Job checkpoint files are automatically deleted if the job completes without an error. However, you will need to remove checkpoint files before they are automatically deleted if you want to do either of the following:
- Rerun an interrupted job from the beginning, rather than restart it from the last checkpoint taken before the interruption. Delete the checkpoint files before job restart, so the job can start from the beginning.
- Abandon an interrupted job and run another job, but the new job checkpoint files will have the same names as the existing checkpoint files.
Use the methods shown in the following sections to remove checkpoint files for a specified user ID or jobname.